Me-Made Elfpunk: Suedecloth patterned leggings and sweater tunic

I’m not sure if I made up the term “Elfpunk.” Poking around, it looks like one or two people may have used the term to describe “urban fiction” novels, but I used it throughout high school to describe elvish boots and tunic tops and other elements of fantasy incorporated into an everyday wardrobe. Lately, I’ve been embracing it pretty heavily — it’s also my most followed Pinterest board. Check it out. Shameless plug over.

What could be better for fall than elfy, leafy leggings? From suedecloth, no less. Mmm. That’s really all there is to say, actually. Green elf leggings. Check. (So, this is one of my hypocritical moments when I want to go for natural fabric but the beauty and the 60% off tag clouded my judgement and I “forgot” to check the content. This is probably heavy polyester. Damn, I’m weak.) I’m pretty into the maroon sweaterdressthing, too, a castoff from a friend. Tunic-y, cowl-necked and snuggly sneaking through the woods like an elf. A really clumsy elf.

Gotta wear it with boots, though. Tried with kitten heels, and it just read really badly. Well, I guess I can include tricky pants in my wardrobe.

129

I think I remember a fantasy quote once about all the elves disappearing into the West… they actually ended up in San Francisco, playing bad rock in dive bars, having a good time. This outfit reminds me of that.

128

Pants: self-drafted (~$5 in materials). Sweaterdress, castoff from friend. (Free). Belt, thrifted ($1.00)

Look at the fabric. Loooookit. It's 90% elfpunk, 10% wallpaper. Of course, with the wrong shoes, it's 90% elderly second-grade teacher, 10% wallpaper.

Look at the fabric. Loooookit. It’s 90% elfpunk, 10% wallpaper. Of course, with the wrong shoes, it’s 90% elderly second-grade teacher, 10% wallpaper.

Leave a Reply

