Rainy Fashion Thursday: Oversized sweaters and shorts

Sometimes, when it’s rainy in the spring, you just have to go for a walk in a slubby, oversized, comfy sweater and vintage Doc Martens. If you’re lucky, you’ll have a duck-handled umbrella.

2009-01-01 00.00.00-471

Umbrella: Gift (my best guess is Modcloth for $17.99). Sweater: Christopher and Banks (thrifted, $4). Cutoff shorts: modified Gap jeans (thrifted, $1). Tights: Target, $5. Boots: Vintage Doc Martens (thrifted, $6.99) Total outfit cost: ~$37 (expensive for me!)

Just be careful with cotton-heavy sweaters that are kind of stiff without a lot of drape; sometimes when you adjust them, they look like this.

Unless you're pregnant, this is not a good look.

Unless you’re pregnant, this is not a good look. (We aren’t shy about bad pictures around here!)
Side note: This is my backyard. Literally 5-10 yards from my bedroom door.

But mostly, they look like this.

2009-01-01 00.00.00-474

Oversized, but not creating an imaginary belly. Also, obligatory “yes I know I have a zit on my chin” notice. Still no makeup or photoshop; only way to wear a slubby sweater. 🙂

Happy rainy days, everyone!

P.S. Yes, I know I have cat hair on my tights. I thought I’d gotten it all off, but living with this guy leads to a lot of furry garments.

2009-01-01 00.00.00-72 (JessieMartin's conflicted copy 2013-04-16)

This is Sasquatch. He thinks he’s a human, he’s the most lovey cat I’ve ever met, and he’s mine, along with all of his white fur all over my tights.

Leave a Reply

