7-day vegan challenge day 2: Tom Ka

I know, I know. I already posted a recipe for Tom Ka. I cheated a little because on Tuesdays we have a potluck gathering, and I wanted to make something I knew everyone would like and would potentially feed a large number of people. But I didn’t completely cop out: I updated the recipe with better pictures! Go check it out. Besides, it’s really just that amazing.

I finally got enough sleep on a week night, and I’m remembering why I used to decline activities on a regular basis last year. It just feels so nice to be up sipping coffee (black, of course) and eating oatmeal and watching the sun rise without a hangover or sleep-deprivation-based bleariness.

But there was someone passed out on my couch, so breakfast was half a serving of plain-jane oatmeal (I can never finish a whole serving). It’s quick and quiet to prepare, and good for an early, pre-workout breakfast. The only issue is how gross oatmeal makes pots unless you stand over it stirring constantly.

After some yoga and a quick, but really intense, HiiT workout I realized I jumped back into exercise way too hard, and wound up curled on the floor with a belly ache. So I made a strawberry-oatmeal-banana-flaxseed-kale smoothie (no milk!) to have something soothing in my stomach, and that helped a great deal.

I had planned to eat leftovers from yesterday’s rice noodle and peanut sauce salad for breakfast, but I ended up eating all of it last night. Seriously, it ended up being more like 6 servings, and I ate it all, except for the one serving the Male Compatriot ate. I swear, I’d be an obese vegan.

Anyway, lunch and dinner were mostly the same meal; I ended up making a ton of Tom Ka and just kind of ate it all day. Delicious! Also some salad periodically.

Yesterday I was incredibly tired, and worried a little bit that the lack of… whatever… energy, I guess? In my diet was making me tired. I knew better, of course, but worried just the same. And then I got enough sleep and today has been a very energetic day. So far, vegan is pretty easy — I just have to be careful not to add fish sauce to anything!

6 comments

  1. celestedimilla

    Congrats on day two of your 7-day vegan challenge! I’ve been vegan for just over a year, and I cheated like crazy at first. I don’t think I got through my first two days without cheating, so I’d say you’re doing great. Celeste:)

    • Jessie

      Thanks so much! I have a confession, though — someone brought over a bean-olive-pepper dip platter and I loaded up a chip and ate it before I realized there was some cheese. I guess it is kind of hard; not that I have much desire for certain things (yet) but that they’re so hard to avoid!
      Great on you for being vegan so long, too. I am seriously considering going vegetarian, but I’m not sure about the vegan thing. That’s what experiments are for. 😀

      • celestedimilla

        Haha! I’ve had lots of those experiences since going vegan. I was eating off the vegetarian menu of a local Chinese restaurant for months before realizing that they used chicken broth even for their “vegetarian” dishes. Celeste:)

      • Jessie

        Oh no! Yeah, it’s pretty hard to be vegan in that way, lots of sneaky things. It’s been really interesting learning all the traps and pitfalls for both vegetarians and vegans out there!

  2. Phoenix

    Awesome on day 2. Its 35 days for me and I feel fantastic, like I’m 20 instead of 40. I’ve also dropped 34 pounds basically a pound a day. Good stuff keep up the great work.

    • Jessie

      Wow! That’s great to hear. I’ve lost a bit of weight myself, though nothing dramatic. The energy levels are the best part, though. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

