Spiders, Showers, and Perceptions

There’s always an element of trust for me, taking a shower: It involves relinquishing my sight in a way that rarely happens other times, due to my inordinately poor sight. Today, I left my contact lenses in while showering; I rarely do so because water gets in my eyes, but I didn’t think about it.

Suddenly, movement out of the corner of my eye. All the more startling because it came from a corner that normally looks more like this:

2009-01-01 00.00.00-221

And sure enough: Hello, spider! Just hanging out inside the ducky loofah. No big deal, but I’d never have seen it on a normal day. If you’re scared of spiders, this might not be such a good thought — but I kind of liked it. Spiders aren’t my favorite things in the universe, but it was a good reminder that most of the time we coexist quite peacefully.

2009-01-01 00.00.00-223

Spiders be chillin’

So many things happen just outside of our perception. And even when they’re creepy, usually (usually!) they don’t hurt us. So I’m less and less afraid to look all the time. And that’s my comforting thought for the day.

Leave a Reply

