Greenapalooza

Well, I didn’t post a green smoothie recipe every day back when I said I would. So here’s a bunch together all in one place! My recipes call for either spinach or bok choy; I’ve never seen other recipes that use bok choy, but it has an even milder flavor than, and is nutritionally similar to spinach, so why not? (Edit: I found some. Apparently you shouldn’t eat bok choy, or any brassica veggie, every day. So use your judgement.) There’s tons of simple recipes out there, so I tried to go with some of the more exotic and/or unexpected combinations that I like.
General Tips:

  • Smoothie not blending? Use a dash of milk or some other liquid to help move things along.
  • Put the heavy ingredients in last (especially the yogurt) to keep the lighter ingredients like the greens from flying around and sticking to the walls.
  • If you are freezing your banana, peel it first! Otherwise you end up picking bits of frozen peel off, which is no fun.
  • I find tupperware to be a gross way of storing smoothies; use a glass jar for overnight storage. I wouldn’t recommend storing them longer than that, but I like to make mine before bed.
  • You may want to halve the recipes, I found them to be quite large and sometimes too much. Other days I’ll chug them right down though.
  • I use flax seeds in all of mine, feel free the substitute for something else, like protein powder or whatever you need.

Recipes:

Directions for every smoothie: put everything in the blender and blend until smooth.

Pumpkin Spice Green Smoothie

  • 2 cups spinach/bok choy
  • 1 banana (preferably frozen)
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • dash of milk to help blend (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon (or more, I only had a tablespoon left!) of pumpkin butter, pumpkin puree, etc. If you have 1/4 cup of just straight up pumpkin slices, I bet it would be awesome, savory and really really pumpkiny. If you go that route, keep in mind that it’s not going to be sweet, so you might want to add some honey or another sweetener
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and ginger powder to taste

I really liked this one. Satisfied my fall cravings, which are kicking into overdrive watching the trees change outside my window. Sprinkle crushed grahm crackers on top for a pumpkin pie smoothie!

Happy Monkey Green Smoothie

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 banana (preferably frozen)
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • dash of milk to help blend (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • chocolate syrup to taste (not strictly healthy, but oh-so-delicious!)

This one is really kid friendly! And who doesn’t like peanut butter and chocolate? The syrup will turn the smoothie an interesting pale brown, so be aware of that. I don’t know, but I suspect some kids might actually like that it if you spin it right.

Granola Green Smoothie

  • 2 cups bok choy
  • 1 banana (preferably frozen)
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • dash of milk to help blend (optional)
  • 1/4 c oats
  • 1/2 c frozen apple juice mix
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Honey to taste

You might consider halving this recipe: the oats make for a very filling smoothie. The frozen juice concentrate gives it a really nice flavor and thins it out a bit more than the yogurt, but the oats keep it really thick. Might not be as uber-healthy, I know there’s concerns about juice concentrate, so use your judgement.

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 banana (preferably frozen)
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1 cup pineapple chunks (or more if you have them, but pineapple can get expensive in the off season; try to buy in season when you can.)
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • dash of milk to help blend (optional)

Dairy free pina colada; what more can I say? Delicious.

Honey-Ginger Pale Green Smoothie

  • 2 cups bok choy
  • 1 banana (preferably frozen)
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons ginger
  • 2 tablespoons honey (more, to balance out the strong ginger flavor, less to have less sugar)

I cheated and put this here even though I posted it in my first green smoothie post; it helps to have everything in one place, no?

There’s a ton of really good recipes out there, and these are mostly a jumping off point: what’s your favorite?

Leave a Reply

